Last Updated: 29 March 2021

A-Level curriculum and subject syllabuses

A-Level curriculum and subject syllabuses is designed to give students the values and skills to take them through life as responsible adults and active citizens.


A-Level curriculum focuses on 3 areas, such as Life skills, Knowledge skills and Subject disciplines.

Life skills ensure that students receive sound values and skills to take them through life as responsible adults and citizens. It comprises of non-academic curriculum, for example:

  • Co-Curriculum Activities
  • Character and Citizenship Education
  • Physical Education
  • Values in Action

Knowledge skills seek to develop students’ thinking, process and communication skills. This will enable students to analyse information and express their thoughts and ideas clearly and effectively. It comprises of skills-based subjects, such as:

  • General Paper
  • Knowledge and Inquiry
  • Project Work

Subject disciplines ensure that students have a good grounding across different areas of study. It comprises of Languages, Humanities and the Arts and Mathematics and Sciences, learn more about each disciplines:

  • Languages
    • Mother Tongue Languages
    • 3rd Languages
  • Humanities and the Arts
    • Arts
    • Economics
    • Literature in English
    • Geography
    • History
    • Music
    • Theatre Studies and Drama
  • Mathematics and Sciences
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Physics
    • Mathematics
    • Computing
Note: Learn more about the post-secondary landscape with our Post-Secondary Education Booklet.

Subject Syllabuses

Arts Education
Character and Citizenship Education