A Singapore Government Agency Website How to identify
Official website links end with .gov.sg

Government agencies communicate via .gov.sg website
(e.g. go.gov.sg/open). Trusted websites

Secure websites use HTTPS

Look for a lock () or https:// as an added precaution.
Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Eight Teachers Receive Top Honours for Dedication and Excellence in Education

Published Date: 31 August 2023 06:30 PM

News Press Releases

1. Eight outstanding educators received this year's President's Award for Teachers from President Halimah Yacob at the annual Teachers' Day Reception on 31 August 2023. The recipients are:

(Not in order of merit)
School Designation
Ashikin Bte Abdul Ra'uuf Ngee Ann Secondary School Lead Teacher (Education Support)
Chan Joo Seng Melvin Chua Chu Kang Secondary School Senior Teacher (History)
Chen Siyun Fairfield Methodist School (Primary) Head of Department (ICT)
Fann Zhi Jie Singapore Polytechnic Senior Manager
Malini D/O Thyagesan Republic Polytechnic Senior Lecturer
Poh Wei Beng St. Gabriel’s Secondary School Head of Department (Student Management)
Shahul Hameed S/O Kuthubudeen Serangoon Garden Secondary School Head of Department (Student management)
Yang Yan Qi CHIJ (Katong) Primary School Head of Department (ICT)

2. President Halimah Yacob said: "Teaching is not just a job, it is a higher calling. Beyond imparting knowledge and skills, our teachers inspire, shape, and inculcate the right values in our young that will enable them to thrive in a rapidly changing world. The recipients of this year's President's Award for Teachers exemplify and exuberate the passion and joy for teaching, qualities that inspired their peers and students. My heartiest congratulations to all eight award winners, as well as the 4,000 over nominees. I thank all of you for your service and look forward to your continued good work in moulding our future generations".

3. This year's recipients were selected from 17 finalists who were judged by a panel chaired by Mr Patrick Tay, Chairperson of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Education. The panel included representatives from the Ministry of Education (MOE), Post-Secondary Education Institutions (PSEIs), as well as the Community and Parents in Support of Schools (COMPASS), a council established in December 1998 to advise MOE on strengthening and promoting school-home-community collaboration. A total of 4,367 educators from 312 schools and post-secondary education institutions were nominated by school leaders, colleagues, parents, as well as former and current students. (Please see Annex A for list of finalists).

4. Established in 1998, the President's Award for Teachers recognises outstanding educators for their dedication and hard work in nurturing our young. This year's award recipients will be able to participate in an overseas learning programme to further their professional development. PAT finalists will receive a grant to attend either overseas or local conferences, seminars, or courses.