School Terms and Holidays for 2023

Published Date: 19 October 2022 02:00 PM

News Press Releases

1. The school year for 2023 for all MOE primary schools (including MOE Kindergartens) and secondary schools will start on Tuesday, 3 January 2023 and end on Friday, 17 November 2023.

First Day of School Arrangements

2. Similar to the arrangements in 2021 and 2022, Primary 1 and Kindergarten 1 students in primary schools and MOE Kindergartens will report on the first day of school on 3 Jan 2023. Primary 2 to 6 and Kindergarten 2 students will report to school on 4 Jan 2023.

3. While this move was introduced as part of measures to safeguard the well-being of the school community during the COVID-19 pandemic, the arrangements have worked well in helping the younger students ease into their new school environment on the first school day, and will continue to be in place moving forward.

School Calendar 2023

PRIMARY & SECONDARY
Semester I
Term I Tue 3 Jan1 to Fri 10 Mar
Term II Mon 20 Mar to Fri 26 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 26 Jun to Fri 1 Sep
Term IV Mon 11 Sep to Fri 17 Nov2

1 Primary 1 and Kindergarten 1 will start school on Tuesday, 3 January 2023. Primary 2 to 6 and Kindergarten 2 will start school on Wednesday, 4 January 2023.

2 The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O-Level written examinations, will be Friday, 27 October 2023.


JUNIOR COLLEGE (JC) Year 1 & MILLENNIA INSTITUTE (MI) Year 1 MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Semester I
Term I Fri 3 Feb to Fri 10 Mar Mon 9 Jan to Fri 10 Mar
Term II Mon 20 Mar to Fri 26 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 26 Jun to Fri 1 Sep
Term IV Mon 11 Sep to Fri 24 Nov Mon 11 Sep to end of GCE A-Level examinations

School Vacation 2023

4. The four vacation periods for schools, junior colleges and Millennia Institute for 2023 will be as follows:

PRI & SEC
Between Terms I & II Sat 11 Mar to Sun 19 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 27 May to Sun 25 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 2 Sep to Sun 10 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 18 Nov to Sun 31 Dec

JC Year 1, MI Year 1 & MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Between Terms I & II Sat 11 Mar to Sun 19 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 27 May to Sun 25 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 2 Sep to Sun 10 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 25 Nov to Sun 31 Dec End of GCE A-Level examinations to 31 Dec

5. The scheduled school holidays and public holidays for 2023 will be as follows:

Scheduled School Holidays 2023

Youth Day *Sun 2 Jul
(The following Mon 3 Jul will be a scheduled school holiday)
Day after National Day Thu 10 Aug
Teachers’ Day Fri 1 Sep
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 6 Oct

Public Holidays 2023

Term I

New Year’s Day Sun 1 Jan3
Chinese New Year
Sun 22 Jan4
Mon 23 Jan
Term II


Good Friday Fri 7 Apr
Hari Raya Puasa Sat 22 Apr5
Labour Day Mon 1 May
Vesak Day Fri 2 Jun
Term III
Hari Raya Haji Thu 29 Jun
National Day Wed 9 Aug
Term IV
Deepavali Sun 12 Nov6
Christmas Day Mon 25 Dec

3 Monday, 2 Jan will be a public holiday.

4 Tuesday, 24 Jan will be a public holiday.

5 Monday, 24 Apr will be a school holiday and a designated day off-in-lieu, schools are closed including the General Office, Student Care Centre/Kindergarten Care (KCare) Centres.

6 Monday, 13 Nov will be a public holiday.


6. The school terms and holidays for 2023 are also listed on the MOE's website at https://www.moe.gov.sg/calendar.

Share this article: