Arif Budiman Malay Language Teacher Award 2021

Published Date: 06 November 2021 12:00 PM

News Press Releases

Five Malay Language teachers will receive the Arif Budiman Malay Language Teacher Award (AGAB) this year, in recognition of their outstanding contributions in the teaching and learning of Malay Language.

2. Mr S Iswaran, Minister for Transport and Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations will be presenting the awards to the recipients during an award ceremony on Saturday,

3. 6 November, 10.00a.m. to 12.00p.m. The ceremony will take on a hybrid format with a physical event involving a small audience, while other guests and members of public are invited to attend virtually via live stream on the Malay Language Learning and Promotion Committee (MLLPC) FB page.

4. Each award recipient will receive a trophy and a certificate of achievement. In addition, they will have an opportunity to participate in a fully-sponsored professional development programme.

5. AGAB 2021 is jointly organised by the Malay Language Council Singapore, Malay Language Teachers Association, Berita Harian, and MLLPC. Since its inauguration in 2007, AGAB has recognised 64 primary, secondary and pre-university Malay Language teachers.

6. All Malay Language teachers in local mainstream schools were eligible to be nominated for AGAB 2021, based on their performance and contributions from 2019 to 2020. Students, teachers, parents, school leaders and members of the public were invited to nominate potential award recipients. This year, 204 nominations for 139 teachers were received between February to April 2021.

7. The awardees were selected by a panel of judges comprising community leaders, academics from institutions of higher learning, school leaders and representatives from the media.


Share this article: