Open for Nominations: Most Inspiring Tamil Teachers’ Award 2020/2021

Published Date: 05 February 2021 10:00 AM

News Press Releases

2020/2021 நல்லாசிரியர் விருதுக்கான நியமனங்கள் வரவேற்கப்படுகின்றன

From 08 February to 30 April 2021, students, educators, parents, and members of the public are invited to nominate Tamil Language (TL) teachers for the Most Inspiring Tamil Teachers’ (MITT) Award 2020/2021.

2. The MITT Award recognises TL teachers in primary and secondary schools, junior colleges and Millennia Institute who have made significant contributions to the teaching and learning of TL. Nominees should be:

  • Teachers who nurture students’ interest in TL by using innovative methods to make lessons more interesting and engaging; and
  • Dedicated and passionate teachers who demonstrate a keen interest in students’ well-being and inspire students to be self-directed and engaged learners.

3. Since 2002, the MITT Award has recognised about 200 TL teachers. This year, a total of six awards will be given out for the ‘Primary’, ‘Secondary’ and ‘Pre-University’ categories. The awards will be presented to recipients at a ceremony in September 2021.

4. The nomination form can be obtained from all schools or downloaded from and Nominations can also be made online at and

5. The MITT Award is jointly presented by Tamil Murasu, Tamil Language Learning and Promotion Committee, and the Singapore Tamil Teachers’ Union (STTU). For more information, please email

The Best NIE Trainee Teacher Award and Lifetime Achievement Award

6. In addition to the MITT Award, two other awards will also be presented at the award ceremony in September – the Best NIE Trainee Teacher Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award, which were first presented in 2014 and 2012, respectively.

  • The Best NIE Trainee Teacher Award recognises the best-performing TL trainee teacher during his/her course of study. The recipient will be selected by NIE.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award honours the contributions of our pioneer TL teachers who have been exemplary in their role and have inspired generations of students and teachers. The recipient will be selected by representatives from STTU.
Share this article: