Press Releases

August 15, 2018

School Terms and Holidays for 2019

1. The school year for 2019 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start on Wednesday, 2 January and end on Friday, 15 November 2019.

School Calendar 2019

PRIMARY & SECONDARY
Semester I
Term I Wed 2 Jan to Fri 15 Mar
Term II Mon 25 Mar to Fri 31 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 1 Jul to Fri 6 Sep
Term IV Mon 16 Sep to *Fri 15 Nov

*The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O Level written examinations will be Friday, 25 October 2019.

JUNIOR COLLEGE (JC) Year 1 & Millennia Institute (MI) Year 1 MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Semester I
Term I Fri 1 Feb to Fri 15 Mar Mon 7 Jan to Fri 15 Mar
Term II Mon 25 Mar to Fri 31 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 1 Jul to Fri 6 Sep
Term IV Mon 16 Sep to Fri 22 Nov Mon 16 Sep to end of ‘A’-Level exams


School Vacation 2019

2. The four vacation periods for schools, junior colleges and centralised institute for 2019 will be as follows:

  PRI & SEC
Between Terms I & II Sat 16 Mar to Sun 24 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 1 Jun to Sun 30 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 7 Sep to Sun 15 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 16 Nov to Tue 31 Dec


JC Year 1, MI Year 1 & MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Between Terms I & II Sat 16 Mar to Sun 24 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 1 Jun to Sun 30 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 7 Sep to Sun 15 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 23 Nov to Tue 31 Dec End of ‘A’ Level exams to Tue 31 Dec

3. The scheduled school holidays and public holidays for 2019 will be as follows:

Scheduled School Holidays 2019

Youth Day Sun 7 Jul
(The following Monday, 8 Jul 2019 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Teachers’ Day Fri 6 Sep
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 4 Oct

Public Holidays 2019

Term I New Year’s Day Tue 1 Jan
Chinese New Year Tue 5 Feb
Wed 6 Feb
Term II Good Friday Fri 19 Apr
Labour Day Wed 1 May
Vesak Day *Sun 19 May
Term III Hari Raya Puasa Wed 5 Jun
National Day Fri 9 Aug
Term IV
Hari Raya Haji **Sun 11 Aug
Deepavali ***Sun 27 Oct
Christmas Day Wed 25 Dec
* *Monday, 20 May, will be a public holiday.
**Monday, 12 Aug, will be a public holiday.
***Monday, 28 Oct, will be a public holiday.

4. The school terms and holidays for 2019 are also listed on the MOE’s website at www.moe.gov.sg/education/school-terms-and-holidays.