Top Placing for Host Singapore at the 30th International Young Physicists Tournament

Published Date: 10 July 2017 12:00 AM

News Press Releases

1. Competing on home ground, the Singapore Team has emerged as overall champion at the 30th International Young Physicists Tournament (IYPT) held at the University Town, NUS since 5 July. With this win, Singapore has achieved top placing in the tournament for the sixth time since it first participated in 2009. It is also the fifth consecutive win for Singapore, in a run that started in 2013.

2. The IYPT is a competition for secondary and pre-university students to solve complicated, open-ended scientific problems in teams. Participants have to apply what they learnt in physics to solve these problems. They first carry out research, proceed to modelling, and then experimentation. The teams will also have to give an oral defence of their proposed solutions to the given problems before experts and peers. The one-week event is scheduled to end on 12 July.

3. The Singapore team comprised Lendermann Markus Paul Zhi-Guang (team captain) and Li Kang Chen from NUS High School of Mathematics and Science and Wang Huaijin, Fu Xinghong and Rachel Qing Pang from Raffles Institution. The team was led by Dr Koh Teck Seng from the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Mr Sze Guan Kheng, from Raffles Institution , Mr Joel Tan Shi Quan, Mr Lim Yong Hui and Mr Jee Kai Yen, coaches and ex-IYPT participants. Academics from the National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, National Institute of Education and DSO National Laboratories also provided advice to the students.

4. MOE, the DSO National Laboratories and the Institute of Physics Singapore congratulate the Singapore Team on their outstanding performance.

5. Beijing, China will be hosting the 31st IYPT in 2018.

Share this article: