School Terms and Holidays for 2016

Published Date: 14 September 2015 12:00 AM

News Press Releases

2. The four vacation periods for schools, junior colleges and centralised institute for 2016 will be as follows:

  PRI & SEC
Between Terms I & II Sat 12 Mar to Sun 20 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 28 May to Sun 26 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 3 Sep to Sun 11 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 19 Nov to Sat 31 Dec

  JC Year 1, MI Year 1 & MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Between Terms I & II Sat 12 Mar to Sun 20 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 28 May to Sun 26 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 3 Sep to Sun 11 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 26 Nov to Sat 31 Dec End of ‘A’ Level exams to Sat 31 Dec

3. The scheduled school holidays and public holidays for 2016 will be as follows:

Scheduled School Holidays 2016

Youth Day Sun 3 Jul
(The following Monday, 4 Jul 2016 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Day after National Day Wed 10 Aug
Teachers’ Day Fri 2 Sept
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 7 Oct

Public Holidays 2016

Term I New Year’s Day Fri 1 Jan
Chinese New Year Mon 8 Feb
Tue 9 Feb
Term II Good Friday Fri 25 Mar
Labour Day *Sun 1 May
Vesak Day **Sat 21 May
Term III Hari Raya Puasa Wed 6 Jul
National Day Tue 9 Aug
Term IV Hari Raya Haji Mon 12 Sep
Deepavali ***Sat 29 Oct
Christmas Day ****Sun 25 Dec
* Monday, 2 May will be a public holiday.
** Monday, 23 May, will be a school holiday.
*** Monday, 31 Oct, will be a school holiday.
**** Monday, 26 Dec will be a public holiday.

4. The school terms and holidays for 2016 is available on the MOE’s website at www.moe.gov.sg/schools/terms-and-holidays/2016

Footnote:
  1. Mon 12 Sep is Hari Raya Haji, a public holiday.
  2. JC Year 1 and MI Year 1 start on 29 Jan as ‘O’ Level results are released in mid-Jan and time is needed to process the students’ applications to JCs/MIs.
Share this article: