President's Award for Teachers 2015

Published Date: 03 September 2015 12:00 AM

News Press Releases

1. Six outstanding teachers received the 2015 President’s Award for Teachers (PAT) from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at the Istana during the Teachers’ Day Reception on Thursday, 3 September 2015. They are :

Primary School

  • Dr Tay Lee Yong, Beacon Primary School;
  • Mdm Tauled Tunisha Bte Mohd Paser, CHIJ (Kellock) Primary School;
  • Mdm Safidah Bte Samsudin, Da Qiao Primary School;

Secondary School

  • Mdm Halimah Bte Jumaha, Bedok South Secondary School;

Junior College

  • Mdm Tan Dai Hwee, Anderson Junior College; and
  • Mr Muhamad Salahuddin B Ibrahim, Serangoon Junior College.

2. The PAT 2015 award winners are caring and nurturing teachers dedicated to the holistic development of their students. They are committed to developing their students to the fullest potential and adopt innovative approaches in their lessons. As role models, these teachers are life-long learners and mentors to their peers. More information on each recipient can be found in Annex A.

3. This year, a total of 7,820 nominations for 2,717 teachers were received from school leaders, teachers, parents, former students and students. The six recipients were selected from a list of finalists by a panel chaired by Mr Lim Biow Chuan, Chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Education, and comprising prominent community members and senior officials from the Ministry of Education. The nomination criteria and list of the 13 PAT 2015 finalists can be found in Annex B.

4. Introduced in 1998, the PAT is administered by the Academy of Singapore Teachers. The objective of PAT is to recognise excellent teachers for their critical role in educating the young people of our nation. These teachers inspire their students and peers through their words and deeds. Since its inception, 72 outstanding teachers, including this year’s recipients, have been recognised.

Share this article: