National Honours for Inspirational Young Educators

Published Date: 09 July 2014 12:00 AM

News Press Releases

1.Five young teachers received the Outstanding Youth in Education Award (OYEA) from Mr Heng Swee Keat, Minister for Education, at the National Institute of Education (NIE) Teachers’ Investiture Ceremony on 9 July 2014. They are:

  • Miss Gidwani Poojalal, 31, from Haig Girls’ School;
  • Mdm Nur Ain Binte Ahmad, 34, from Park View Primary School;
  • Ms Lin Xiaojun, 28, from Chestnut Drive Secondary School;
  • Mr Mohamed Ashiq Bin Mohamed Elias, 34, from Pasir Ris Secondary School; and
  • Miss Khairiah Bte Hairoman, 34, from Peirce Secondary School.

2.Selected from 14 finalists, the five winners strongly believe that education is about nurturing the child holistically. They have sought to nurture all-rounded individuals through their lessons and interaction with students. These teachers have also distinguished themselves by adopting innovative approaches both in and outside the classroom, as well as demonstrating dedication in stretching their students’ potential. Please refer to Annex A for more information on the award winners.

3.The OYEA is a national award that recognises young teachers for their commendable enthusiasm, energy and active involvement in youth development. Since its inception in 1999, 49 outstanding young educators, including this year’s winners, have received the award.

4.The OYEA winners were selected by the OYEA Selection Panel, comprising representatives from the Ministry of Education, the National Institute of Education, and the National Youth Council. A total of 4,549 nominations from the schools and members of the public were received for 911 teachers from 216 schools in 2014.

5.Besides honouring the achievements of young educators, OYEA aims to inspire youths that teaching is a fulfilling profession. Besides receiving a trophy and citation certificate, all the OYEA winners will be fully sponsored to attend an overseas professional development programme. The list of the 2014 finalists and details of OYEA are in Annex B.

Share this article: