Singapore Team Wins 27th World Schools Debating Championship

Published Date: 06 August 2015 12:00 AM

News Press Releases

1. The Ministry of Education congratulates the Singapore team for winning the 27th World Schools Debating Championship (WSDC) held in Singapore. A total of 53 nations participated in this event that took place from 27 July to 6 August. The first runner-up and second runner-up are Canada and Pakistan respectively.

2. The five-member Singapore team consists of:

  • Arthur Lee from Anglo-Chinese School (Independent);
  • Bryan Yan from Hwa Chong Institution;
  • Chong Ee Hsiun from Raffles Institution;
  • Ernest Goh from Raffles Institution;
  • Samuel Loh from Raffles Institution.

3. They are led by their coach, Mrs Geetha Creffield, Head of Department for Arts at Anglo-Chinese Junior College, and team manager Miss Evelyn Woels, Senior Curriculum Specialist at the Ministry of Education.

4. Two of the team members, Bryan Yan and Ernest Goh, also garnered top accolades for their overall performance in the WSDC, by ranking 4th and 8th respectively out of 250 competing debaters.

5. Coach Mrs Geetha Creffield said: “The competition process was extremely challenging, as the WSDC is a global platform that gathers the most able debating students from all around the world. I am very proud of the students, who have shown extreme grit and determination, made full use of their skills and knowledge, as well worked hand-in-hand as a team despite the challenging process. I am certain that the experience has been an enriching learning experience for them.”

Competition Format of the WSDC

6. The WSDC is a global competition for debaters between the ages of 14 and 19. Each participating nation submits a team of five students to debate social, moral and political issues.

7. The competition format is a combination of prepared and impromptu rounds of debates, with teams having one hour to prepare for the latter. Teams had to first go through eight preliminary rounds. After which, the top 16 teams faced each other in knock out rounds, followed by the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, and then the Grand Final that took place in the evening of 5 August.

Background of the WSDC

8. The inaugural WSDC was held in Australia in 1988 with six participating nations: Australia, Canada, England, Hong Kong, New Zealand and the United States.

9. Singapore first participated in the WSDC in 1995 and has since been a regular participant. Our past good results in the WSDC include: emerging 2nd in 2003 and 2007, 3rd in 2009 and 2010, and winning the Championship in Scotland in 2011.

10. The WSDC 2015 was organised by the Schools Debating Society with the support of the Ministry of Education. This is the second time that Singapore is hosting the WSDC; Singapore has previously hosted the WSDC in 2002 with 28 nations participating.

Share this article: