Home > Media Centre > Press Releases Printer-friendly page  



11 Jan 2003


CCA Guidelines and Grading Scheme for Secondary Schools Revised 
Leadership, Enrichment, Achievement, Participation and Service (LEAPS)


1.             The Ministry of Education is pleased to announce that it has revised Co-curricular Activities (CCA) Guidelines and the Grading Scheme to further enable our pupils to reach their full potential in their CCA. Known as LEAPS, the new scheme awards CCA points in 5 categories: Leadership, Enrichment, Achievement, Participation and Service. It aims to: 

  • encourage continuous CCA participation; 
  • reward sustained effort, contribution and achievement; and 
  • develop and recognize leadership qualities.

2.             LEAPS is the result of a review of the CCA Guidelines (Secondary Schools) carried out in 2002. The CCA Review Committee was made up of principals, Heads of Department (HODs) and officers in MOE. A number of focus group discussions were subsequently conducted with principals and HODs to seek their views. The draft CCA guidelines were then presented to principals and HODs for their inputs in Oct 2002. The guidelines were further fine-tuned and finalized in Dec 2002.

3.             LEAPS is in alignment with the CCA Framework (Annex) drawn up in 2001 to help schools organise broad and diverse range of activities. It will encourage continuous and broad-based participation while rewarding pupils' contribution and achievement. An improvement over the current CCA grading scheme1 , LEAPS will also recognise and reinforce the importance of pupils' participation in Character Development Programme (CDP) and Community Involvement Programme (CIP) in schools by awarding points for both Service and Enrichment.

4.             In line with the Desired Outcomes of Education, greater weighting will also be accorded to Leadership and Achievement. This will reward pupils who assume leadership positions and those who achieve excellence in their various CCAs. Under the Achievement category, which is sub-categorised into three areas, Representation, Attainment and Accomplishment, pupils will also be encouraged to reach their personal excellence at different levels of CCA achievement, be it representing the school or winning medals at competitions.


5.             The revised grading scale is given in the table below:


CCA Grade No. of CCA Points
Current LEAPS
A 1 10  & above 25 & above 
A 2 20 - 24
B 3 16 - 19
B 4  13 - 15
C 5  10 - 12
C 6  4 - 5 8 - 9 
D 7 3 4 - 7
E 8 1 - 2  1 - 3



6.             LEAPS will be implemented in 2003 for Secondary 1 pupils only. Secondary 2 to 5 pupils will continue to use the current Grading Scheme until 2006 when the Secondary 2 pupils (Normal Course) from 2003 graduate in 2006. This is to ensure that there would not be any disruption as the CCA grade is an accumulation of points awarded during the four or five years of a student's secondary school life. Therefore, there will be 2 systems running in parallel until the current Grading Scheme is eventually phased out.


7.             CCAs are integral to the total education of our pupils and are an important aspect of our education system. In the last few years, the Ministry of Education has introduced a number of initiatives that were in line with the Desired Outcomes of Education, which emphasized the inculcation of values and character formation. These initiatives included the introduction of the CDP, CIP and National Education.

8.             LEAPS will better reflect and recognise the participation and achievement of secondary school pupils in CCA. It will also reinforce the importance of their involvement in school activities in order to experience a more balanced and enriched school life. The higher recognition accorded to Leadership and Achievement will encourage pupils to assume leadership roles and take on greater responsibilities, and for those who are able, to participate and excel in more than one CCA.


9.             Originally called Extra-Curricular Activities (ECA), it was renamed Co-Curricular Activities (CCA) in 1999 to better reflect the role it played in the school curriculum.

10.           As early as 1966, Mr Ong Pang Boon, then Minister for Education, identified ECA as one of the central pillars for inculcating moral values and citizenship. Since then, two major reviews of ECA were carried out. The most recent review was conducted in 1995, which allowed pupils to convert their ECA grades into bonus points and use them for admission into JC/CI, polytechnics or ITE.

1The current CCA grading scheme is divided into three categories: Participation, Achievement and Bonus..





Page Last Updated : 09-Jul-2004

This site is best viewed with IE ver 5.x and Netscape ver 7.x
Copyright 2004 Ministry of Education. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use