Post-Secondary Education Brochure

Learn more about the post-secondary education landscape and various pathways that students can consider by reading our booklet on Post-Secondary Education (5.4mb .pdf).

Institute of Technical Education

Logo of Institute of Technical Education

Established on 1 April 1992, Institute of Technical Education (ITE) took over the role and functions of the Vocational & Industrial Training Board (VITB). Since its formation in 1992, ITE has focused its effort on establishing the institute as a post-secondary technical institution of excellence. The primary role of ITE is to ensure that its graduates have the technical knowledge and skills that are relevant to industry. ITE is the national authority for the setting of skills standards and the certification of skills in Singapore.


nyp  Logo of Ngee Ann Polytechnic   Logo of Republic Polytechnic   Logo of Singapore Polytechnic   Logo of Temasek Polytechnic

Polytechnics were set up with the mission to train professionals to support the technological and economic development of Singapore. Reflecting the wide range of abilities, aptitudes and interests of their students, the polytechnics seek to train students with relevant and specific skills for the workplace to give Singapore a competitive edge as we move into a knowledge-based economy. Today, polytechnic graduates are valued as practice-oriented and knowledgeable professionals, much sought after by industry.

The polytechnics are also a significant provider of continuing education and post employment professional development programmes and services.
There are currently five polytechnics in Singapore:

Public-Funded Universities

Autonomous Universities

Logo of National University of Singapore Logo of Nanyang Technological University Logo of Singapore Management University Logo of Singapore University of Technology and Design Logo of Singapore Institute of Technology

Singapore’s university education aspires to prepare students not only for today’s world but also for a world where there will be jobs that have yet to be invented and challenges not yet foreseen.

The National University of Singapore (NUS) and the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) have initiated a number of innovative programmes, including the broadening of undergraduate education, the introduction of a core curriculum, collaborations with top foreign universities, and the establishment of inter-disciplinary centres. The Singapore Management University (SMU) offers a broad-based business curriculum modelled after that of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

The Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) nurtures technically grounded leaders and innovators for society and is established in collaboration with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Zhejiang University.

The Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) was established in 2009 to provide an industry-focused university education for polytechnic upgraders, in partnership with renowned overseas universities. SIT became an Autonomous University in 2014 began offering its own applied degrees the same year

These universities receive government funding, but are autonomous, which gives them the flexibility to strategise, innovate, and differentiate themselves, as they pursue excellence in education, research and service.

Private Universities

Logo of SIM University

SIM University (UniSIM) provides university education to working professionals and adult learners by adopting a flexible learning approach to enable its learners to balance their career, family and studies. It is also one of the two universities selected by the Government to offer an applied degree pathway. Like SIT, it began offering its own full-time applied degree programmes in 2014.

Although it is a private university, UniSIM receives government funding so that its students can pursue subsidised part-time and full-time degree programmes.

View the latest Joint Graduate Employment Survey results:

The Graduate Employment Survey (GES) is jointly conducted by NTU, NUS, SIT, SMU and SUTD annually to survey the employment conditions of graduates about six months after their final examinations.

  • NTU (236kb .pdf)
  • NUS (168kb .pdf)
  • SIT (60kb .pdf)
  • SMU (288kb .pdf)
  • SUTD (276kb .pdf)

Committee on Unversity Education Pathways Beyond 2015

The Committee on University Education Pathways Beyond 2015 held a review in 2012 to examine how the university sector can better provide opportunities for Singaporeans to obtain a university education. Find out more on:

LASALLE College of the Arts & Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts

lasalle Logo of Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts

LASALLE College of the Arts and the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) are private institutions providing post-secondary education in the arts. Both LASALLE and NAFA offer publicly-funded diploma programmes. The institutions also receive government funding for select degree programmes offered in partnership with reputable overseas universities.

Other Government-Affiliated Educational Institutions

Logo of BCA Academy
SAA Logo

Industry-specific diploma and degree programmes are also offered by educational institutions affiliated with other government agencies. These educational institutions include:

BCA Academy – the education and research arm of the Building and Construction Authority (BCA) – which offers full-time diploma programmes, as well as other courses, seminars and workshops, in construction, design and engineering.

Singapore Aviation Academy (SAA) – the training arm of the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) – which offers short courses, diploma, degree and executive programmes relevant to the aviation industry.

These educational institutions and their programmes are not funded or regulated by MOE as they do not come under MOE’s purview. More information on these institutions and programmes is available at their respective websites.

Frequently Asked Questions

We have provided a list of frequently asked questions on Post-Secondary Education.