<u>Annex A</u>

ABOUT THE SPECIAL AWARDS

These awards were made possible by private donations from founding Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew and Prime Minister Mr Lee Hsien Loong.

The Lee Kuan Yew Awards are funded through the interest proceeds from the Lee Kuan Yew Donation account of the Education Fund, which include honorariums from his past speaking engagements and proceeds from his book sales, as well as donations from well-wishers who have contributed specifically towards this cause. The Lee Kuan Yew Awards are special awards given out annually to outstanding students in schools, the Institute of Technical Education (ITE), and the polytechnics, in recognition of their achievements in academic and non-academic spheres.

The Lee Hsien Loong Awards are funded from donations made by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong since 2008 to set up an endowment fund. The Lee Hsien Loong Awards are special awards to recognise outstanding students in NorthLight School and Assumption Pathway School who did well and progressed to ITE, outstanding allrounders with contributions to community, and outstanding bicultural students.

The Prime Minister's Book Prize (PMBP)

Established in 1974, the PMBP is an annual award for bilingualism given to primary, secondary and pre-university students. This year, 35 students received the Prime Minister's Book Prize – 11 from the primary school category, 15 from the secondary school category and 9 from the pre-university category.

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for All-Round Excellence (LKY-ARE)

The LKY-ARE is a national-level award for achievement in education that has been presented to secondary school students since 2005. It recognises well-rounded students who have excelled in both academic and non-academic spheres, and who exemplify the qualities articulated in our desired outcomes of education.

To encourage and recognise the efforts and achievements of students at the early stage of their education journey, the LKY-ARE has been extended to primary school students from 2017. This year, 12 primary school students and 12 secondary school students received the award.

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for Mathematics and Science (LKY-M&S)

The LKY-M&S Award was presented for the first time in 1992. The award is given under the secondary, pre-university and polytechnic categories and is aimed at promoting excellence in Mathematics and Science. A total of 48 students received the award this year – 17 from the secondary school category, 12 from the pre-university category and 19 from the polytechnic category.

The Lee Kuan Yew Award for Outstanding Normal Course Students (LKY-ONC)

The LKY-ONC Award was presented for the first time in 2004. The award recognises students in the Normal Academic and Normal Technical course for their academic achievements, and encourages them to continue their academic accomplishments. This year, awards were presented to the best 10 Normal (Academic) students and best five Normal (Technical) students, based on their GCE 'O' level and 'N' level examination results respectively.

The Lee Kuan Yew Exemplary Student Award (LKY-ESA)

Presented since 2017, the LKY-ESA honours students in government-funded special education schools who have risen above the odds to become exemplary role models to their peers through their progress and contributions in various areas, such as the academic, vocational, sports, and art domains. It also acknowledges special education students' contributions to the school community and beyond. This award was presented to 28 students this year.

The Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship to Encourage Upgrading (LKY-STEP)

The LKY-STEP Award was introduced in 2001. This award was made possible by founding Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew who donated the proceeds from the sales of autographed editions of Volume Two of his memoirs to the Ministry of Education in October 2000. The scholarship is to encourage upgrading and life-long learning. The award is presented to outstanding ITE and polytechnic graduates who have performed well academically and attained good co-curricular activity records. This year, 15 LKY-STEP awards were presented to ITE graduates pursuing full-time studies at the polytechnics, and 10 LKY-STEP awards were presented to polytechnic graduates pursuing full-time undergraduate studies at the local universities.

The Lee Hsien Loong Award for Outstanding All-Round Achievement (LHL-OAA)

The LHL-OAA is funded by an endowment donated by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in 2009. The award recognises outstanding academic and non-academic achievements of post-secondary students, particularly those who have made outstanding contributions to the community and demonstrated the spirit of innovation and enterprise.

There are four awards to be given out each year, with one student from each of the following four groups – Junior Colleges/Millennia Institute, ITE, polytechnics and universities.

The Lee Hsien Loong Award for Outstanding Bicultural Students (LHL-OBS)

The LHL-OBS was set up in 2009 to recognise outstanding students in the Bicultural Studies Programme (BSP) and the best student in the Regional Studies Programme (RSP). The Award underpins the strategic importance of developing a core group of bicultural students who are conversant in Chinese or Malay, and are able to engage Asian neighbours as well as relate to the West. This year, 3 students from the BSP and one student from the RSP received the LHL-OBS.

The Lee Hsien Loong Award for Special Achievement (LHL-ASA)

The LHL-ASA was introduced in 2009 to recognise outstanding students from Assumption Pathway School and NorthLight School, who have done well and progressed to ITE. It recognises students who have exemplified positive character development and a positive attitude towards learning and self-improvement. The recipients must have also contributed to the school and community and demonstrated strong leadership qualities. The LHL-ASA was presented to 2 recipients this year.

The Lee Hsien Loong Interactive Digital Media Smart Nation Award (LHL-IDM Smart Nation Award)

The LHL-IDM Smart Nation Award recognises the work of full-time polytechnic students in the areas of Interactive Digital Media (IDM). The award, established in 2017, is given to students and/or teams whose IDM projects fulfil the Smart Nation vision of harnessing technology to improve the lives of citizens, create more opportunities, and build stronger communities. This year, 5 projects were selected for the Award.

The Sultan Haji Omar Ali Saifuddien Book Prize (SHOAS Book Prize)

The SHOAS Book Prize was made possible by founding Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew, who donated the honorarium he had received from the Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Foundation in February 2009. This award was presented for the first time in 2009 and aims to recognise the Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship to Encourage Upgrading (LKY-STEP Award) recipients who have achieved the most outstanding academic results at ITE. This year, 5 students received the award.