## Annex

## **Background and Composition of the IAAP**

The IAAP was established by the Ministry of Education (MOE) in April 1997, and typically meets around every three years. As a gathering of experts from around the world, the Panel provides a platform for collective discussion on issues that are common to universities globally, and to exchange perspectives on the future of higher education. Past IAAP conferences have provided valuable perspectives and proposals, which were useful in the work of the Committee on the Expansion of the University Sector (IAAP 2008), the Committee on University Education Pathways beyond 2015, and the promotion of Social Science and Humanities Research (IAAP 2012).

The 12<sup>th</sup> IAAP is chaired by Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister & Coordinating Minister for Social Policies, and comprises 14 other members who are distinguished leaders in academia and industry from Australia, China, Europe, India and North America.

Name	Designation
Mr Tharman	Senior Minister & Coordinating Minister for Social
Shanmugaratnam	Policies
(Chairman)	
Prof Gene Block	Chancellor, University of California, Los Angeles
Dr Naushad Forbes	Co Chairman, Forbes Marshall Chairman, Core Working
	Group, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) University
	Project
Prof Suzanne Fortier	Principal and Vice Chancellor, McGill University
D <u>r</u> Teruo Fujii	President, University of Tokyo
Prof Dr Thomas	President, Technical University of Munich
Hofmann	
Prof Jin Li	President, Fudan University
Prof Robert J. Jones	Chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Mr Ben Nelson	Founder and Chancellor, Minerva University
Prof Ilkka Niemelä	President, Aalto University
Prof Ariel Porat	President, Tel Aviv University
Prof Louise Richardson	Vice Chancellor, University of Oxford
Mr Brian Schmidt	Vice Chancellor, Australian National University
Mr Peter Voser	Chairman, ABB
Mr Alex Zhu	Vice President, ByteDance