School Terms and Holidays for 2014

Updated as at 15 Aug 2013

The school year for 2014 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start from Thursday, 2 January and end on Friday, 14 November 2014. This takes into account 40 weeks of curriculum time for teaching and learning before the start of the national examinations, and six weeks of school vacation at end of year for teachers and students.

Should there be adjustments to the school calendar, the Ministry of Education will issue a media release to announce the change.

For Primary and Secondary Schools

School Terms for 2014

Semester 1
Term 1 Thursday 2nd January to Friday 14th March
Term 2 Monday 24th March to Friday 30th May

Semester 2
Term 3 Monday 30th June to Friday 5th September
Term 4 Monday 15th September to Friday 14th November

Back to Top

School Holidays for 2014

Semester 1
Between Terms 1 and 2 Saturday 15th March to Sunday 23rd March
Between Semesters 1 and 2 Saturday 31st May to Sunday 29th June

Semester 2
Between Terms 3 and 4 Saturday 6th September to Sunday 14th September
At the End of School Year Saturday 15 November to Wednesday 31st December

Back to Top

For Junior Colleges

School Terms for 2014

Semester 1
Year 1 Year 2
Term 1 1 Thursday 6th February to Friday 14th March Monday 6th January to Friday 14th March
Term 2 Monday 24th March to Friday 30th May

Semester 2
Year 1 Year 2
Term 3 Monday 30th June to Friday 5th September
Term 4 Monday 15th September to Friday 14th November Monday 15th September to end of ‘A’-level exams

Back to Top

School Holidays for 2014

Semester 1
Year 1 Year 2
Between Terms 1 and 2 Saturday 15th March to Sunday 23rd March
Between Semesters 1 and 2 Saturday 31st May to Sunday 29th June

Semester 2
Year 1 Year 2
Between Terms 3 and 4 Saturday 6th September to Sunday 14th September
At the End of School Year Saturday 15th November to Wednesday 31st December End of ‘A’-level exams to Wednesday 31st December

Back to Top

For Millennia Institute

School Terms for 2014

Semester 1
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Term 1 Friday 6th February to Friday 14th March Monday 6th January to Friday 14th March
Term 2 Monday 24th March to Friday 30th May

Semester 2
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Term 3 Monday 30th June to Friday 5th September
Term 4 Monday 15th September to Friday 14th November Monday 15th September to end of ‘A’-level exams

Back to Top

School Holidays for 2014

Semester 1
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Between Terms 1 and 2 Saturday 15th March to Sunday 23rd March
Between Semesters 1 and 2 Saturday 31st May to Sunday 29th June

Semester 2
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Between Terms 3 and 4 Saturday 6th September to Sunday 14th September
At End of School Year Saturday 15th November to Wednesday 31st December End of ‘A’-level exams to Wednesday 31st December

Back to Top

Scheduled School Holidays for 2014

Holiday Date
Youth Day *Sunday 6th July
Teachers’ Day Friday 5th September
Children’s Day (for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only) Friday 3rd October

* The following Monday, 7th July 2014 will be a scheduled school holiday.

Back to Top

Public Holidays for 2014

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Wednesday 1st January
Chinese New Year Friday 31st January
*Saturday 1st February
Good Friday Friday 18th Apr
Labour Day Thursday 1st May
Vesak Day Tuesday 13th May
Hari Raya Puasa Monday 28th July
National Day *Sat 9 Aug
Hari Raya Haji ** Sunday 5th October
Deepavali Wednesday 22nd October
Christmas Day Thursday 25 December

*The following Mondays, 3 Feb 2014 & 11 Aug 2014, will be school holidays

**As Hari Raya Haji falls on Sun 5 Oct 2014, the next day, Mon 6 Oct 2014 will be a public holiday

Back to Top

Footnote
  1. JC Year 1 and MI Year 1 start on 6 Feb as ‘O’ Level results are released in mid-Jan and time is needed to process the students’ application to JCs/MI.