Press Releases

August 15, 2013

School Terms and Holidays for 2014

The school year for 2014 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start from Thursday, 2 January and end on Friday, 14 November 2014. This takes into account 40 weeks of curriculum time for teaching and learning before the start of the national examinations, and six weeks of school vacation at end of year for teachers and students.

School Calendar 2014

PRIMARY & SECONDARY
Semester I
Term I Thu 2 Jan - Fri 14 Mar
Term II Mon 24 Mar to Fri 30 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 30 Jun to Fri 5 Sep
Term IV Mon 15 Sep to Fri 14 Nov
JUNIOR COLLEGE (JC) Year 1 & Millennia Institute (MI) Year 1 MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Semester I
Term I 1Thu 6 Feb - Fri 14 Mar Mon 6 Jan - Fri 14 Mar
Term II Mon 24 Mar to Fri 30 May
Semester II
Term III Mon 30 Jun to Fri 5 Sep
Term IV Mon 15 Sep to Fri 14 Nov Mon 15 Sep to end of ‘A’-level exams

School Vacation 2014

The four vacation periods for schools, junior colleges and centralised institute for 2014 will be as follows:

PRI & SEC
Between Terms I & II Sat 15 Mar - Sun 23 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 31 May - Sun 29 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 6 Sep - Sun 14 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 15 Nov - Wed 31 Dec
JC Year 1, MI Year 1 & MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Between Terms I & II Sat 15 Mar - Sun 23 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 31 May - Sun 29 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 6 Sep - Sun 14 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 15 Nov - Wed 31 Dec End of ‘A’ Level exams - Wed 31 Dec

The scheduled school holidays and public holidays for 2014 will be as follows:

Scheduled School Holidays 2014

Youth Day Sun 6 Jul
(The following Monday, 7 Jul 2014 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Teachers’ Day Fri 5 Sept
Children’s Day (for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only) Fri 3 Oct

Public Holidays 2014

Term I New Year’s Day Wed 1 Jan
Chinese New Year Fri 31 Jan
*Sat 1 Feb
Term II Good Friday Fri 18 Apr
Labour Day Thu 1 May
Vesak Day Tue 13 May
Term III Hari Raya Puasa Mon 28 Jul
National Day *Sat 9 Aug
Term IV Hari Raya Haji **Sun 5 Oct
Deepavali ***Thu 23 Oct
Christmas Day Thu 25 Dec
*The following Mondays, 3 Feb 2014 & 11 Aug 2014, will be school holidays

**As Hari Raya Haji falls on Sun 5 Oct 2014, the next day, Mon 6 Oct 2014 will be a public holiday

***Tentatively, Deepavali will fall on 23 October in 2014. This date will need to be reconfirmed against the Hindu Almanac when it is available. Should there be a change in the date, the Ministry of Manpower will issue a media release to announce the change accordingly.

The school terms and holidays for 2014 is available on the MOE’s website at http://www.moe.gov.sg/schools/terms-and-holidays/2014/.

Footnote
  1. JC Year 1 and MI Year 1 start on 6 Feb as ‘O’ Level results are released in mid-Jan and time is needed to process the students’ application to JCs/MI.