Press Releases

October 16, 2009

Ministry of Education Appoints 60 Principals in 2009

The Ministry of Education (MOE) will be appointing 60 Principals at the 12th Appointment Ceremony for Principals to be held on 29 December 2009. Of these 31 are newly-appointed Principals. (please refer to Annex A for the details).

Principals are key to shaping and strengthening the traditions and ethos of our schools. They lead and inspire teachers, and work with parents and the community to provide our students with the opportunities to discover their strengths and follow their passions. We need good Principals to steer our schools in preparing our young well for the future.

For the 31 newly appointed Principals, the appointment is an important milestone in their professional career as they assume major responsibilities as leaders in education. For the 29 serving Principals and HQ officers who are assuming new appointments, it is an affirmation of MOE’s confidence and trust in their abilities to continue guiding our teachers and our young. The process of systematically appointing and rotating Principals not only enables schools to benefit from the infusion of fresh perspectives, but also gives Principals the opportunity to take on different challenges as part of their career development.

Ms Ho Peng, Director-General of Education, will present the Certificates of Appointment to the Principals at the 12th Appointment Ceremony for Principals on 29 December 2009. Minister for Education, Dr Ng Eng Hen, will grace the ceremony as Guest-of-Honour.

Annex A: Appointment and Posting of Principals

Junior Colleges

s/n School Name of New Principal Current/ Previous Designation/ Attachment
Rotated Principals
1 Catholic Junior College Mrs Christine Anne Kong Cluster Supt, E7
Schools Division
2 Innova Junior College Mr Koh Yong Chiah
许 永 正
Principal, Jurong Junior College
3 Jurong Junior College Miss Tay Lai Ling
郑 丽 玲
Deputy Director, Curriculum Policy & Pedagogy
Curriculum Planning & Development Division

Full Schools

s/n School Name of New Principal Current/ Previous Designation/ Attachment
Newly Appointed Principals
4 Maris Stella High School Mr Lim Choon Kiat Joseph
林 俊 杰
Vice-Principal, Maris Stella High School

Secondary Schools

s/n School Name of New Principal Current/ Previous Designation/ Attachment
Rotated Principals
5 Chua Chu Kang Secondary School Mrs Chuah-Koh Eng Ngoh
许 英 娥
Senior Quality Assessor
Schools Division
6 Clementi Town Secondary School Mdm Grace Tan Bee Sim
陈 美 心
Principal, Deyi Secondary School
7 Compassvale Secondary School Mdm Ong Teck Hui
王 竹 慧
Principal, East Spring Secondary School
8 Dunearn Secondary School Mr Boo Hian Kok
巫 向 国
Principal, Beatty Secondary School
9 Dunman High School Dr Foo Suan Fong
符 传 丰
Principal, Nan Hua High School
10 Nan Hua High School Mrs Tan Jong Lek
洪 葆
Principal, Clementi Town Secondary School
11 Nanyang Girls’ High School Mdm Heng Boey Hong
王 梅 凤
Principal, Nanyang Primary School
12 Outram Secondary School Mr Loh Cheung Ming
罗 长 明
Senior Quality Assessor
Schools Division
13 Serangoon Garden Secondary School Mr Ng Chee Kheong
吳 志 强
Principal, Siglap Secondary School
14 Si Ling Secondary School Mr Wong Lok Oon
黄 禄 安
Principal, Dunearn Secondary School
15 Tanglin Secondary School Mdm Aini Bte Ma’arof Principal, First Toa Payoh Secondary School
Newly Appointed Principals
16 Beatty Secondary School Mr Shaw Swee Tat
苏 瑞 达
Vice-Principal, Beatty Secondary School
17 Deyi Secondary School Mdm Linda Chua Mui Mui
蔡 美 美
Vice-Principal, Deyi Secondary School
18 Dunman Secondary School Miss Chong Choy Hoong Beatrice
张 彩 虹
Vice-Principal, Dunman Secondary School
19 East Spring Secondary School Mrs Jalil-Ong Suat Eng
王 雪 英
Vice-Principal, East Spring Secondary School
20 First Toa Payoh Secondary School Mr Lim Kok Hwa
林 国 华
Vice-Principal, Tanglin Secondary School
21 Jurong Secondary School Mr Tham Kine Thong
谭 景 桐
Vice-Principal, Jurong Secondary School
22 Pasir Ris Crest Secondary School Mdm Koh Soo Min
辜 素 敏
Vice-Principal, Serangoon Junior College
23 Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary) Miss Yoong Nyok Ke Pamela
熊 玉 琪
Vice-Principal, Paya Lebar Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary)
24 Siglap Secondary School Mr Low Joo Hong
刘 聚 洪
Former Vice-Principal, Dunman High School
25 Tampines Secondary School Mr Balamurugan s/o Krishnasamy Vice-Principal, Tampines Secondary School
26 Teck Whye Secondary School Mr Ong Kong Hong
汪 光 鸿
Former Vice-Principal, Bedok Green Secondary School
27 Unity Secondary School Mr Chan Ying Yin
陈 英 贤
Vice-Principal, Innova Junior College

Primary Schools

s/n School Name of New Principal Current/ Previous Designation/ Attachment
Rotated Principals
28 Canberra Primary School Mr Wong Poo Mun
黄 宝 满
Principal, Kranji Primary School
29 CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity Miss Agnes Chew Geok Kim
周 玉 金
Principal, St. Anthony’s Canossian Primary School
30 CHIJ Primary (Toa Payoh) Mrs Tan Soon Kee Margaret
陈 顺 枝
Principal, CHIJ (Katong) Primary
31 Damai Primary School Mdm Goh Beng Su (Mrs Lim Kian Huat)
吳 明 辞
Principal, Northland Primary School
32 Horizon Primary School
(New school in Jan 2010)
Mrs Ang Chin Du Nee Wong M K
黄 枚 娇
Principal, Eunos Primary School
33 Holy Innocents’ Primary School Mdm Quek Seok Noi
郭 惜 莲
Principal, CHIJ Our Lady Of The Nativity
34 Kranji Primary School Mrs Chin Shin Wea
吳 秀 群
Principal, Loyang Primary School
35 Marymount Convent School Miss Cecilia Lim Seok Cheng
林 淑 浈
Principal, CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace
36 Nanyang Primary School Mrs Lee Hui Feng
钟 蔚 芬
Principal, Nan Hua Primary School
37 North Spring Primary School Mrs Loh Angeline
苏 雪 清
Principal, Damai Primary School
38 Northland Primary School Mr Teoh Tiong San
张 忠 山
Principal, Unity Primary School
39 Tao Nan School Mr Chin Kim Woon
陈 京 文
Former Principal, Pei Chun Public School
40 Temasek Primary School Mdm Chin Ming Yew Magdalene
陈 明 有
Principal, CHIJ Primary (Toa Payoh)
41 Woodlands Primary School Mdm Kit Gek Wah
郭 玉 华
Principal, Guangyang Primary School
42 Unity Primary School Mrs Jasmail Singh Gill Principal, Chongzheng Primary School
Newly Appointed Principals
43 Ai Tong School Mr Tan Yap Kin
陈 业 健
Vice-Principal, Ai Tong School
44 CHIJ (Katong) Primary Mdm See Sue-Lyn Geraldine
施 素 玲
Assistant Director, Pre-School Education
Education Programmes Division
45 CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace Mdm Lim Kim Gek
林 金 玉
Vice-Principal, CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace
46 Chongzheng Primary School Mrs Elaine Quek-Lim Hwee Bin
林 惠 珉
Vice-Principal, Chongzheng Primary School
47 Compassvale Primary School Mr Chua Choon Guan
蔡 尊 元
Vice-Principal, Compassvale Primary School
48 Dazhong Primary School Mrs Ng-Teo Sock Hua
张 淑 華
Vice-Principal, Singapore Chinese Girls’ School (Primary)
49 Eunos Primary School Mdm Jennifer Han Eng Juan
韓 英 元
Vice-Principal, Eunos Primary School
50 Guangyang Primary School Mdm Wu Siew Fong Susan
伍 小 芳
Vice-Principal, Guangyang Primary School
51 Haig Girls’ School Mdm Wong Hian Hee Constance
王 贤 惠
Vice-Principal, Haig Girls’ School
52 Loyang Primary School Mdm Pang Siu San
冯 秀 珊
Vice-Principal, Loyang Primary School
53 Montfort Junior School Miss Chye Wui Hung Genevieve
蔡 维 虹
Principal, Montfort Junior School wef 25 Aug 2009
54 Nan Hua Primary School Mdm Teo Hoon Peng Becky
(Mrs Becky Neo)
张 筠 平
Vice-Principal, Nan Hua Primary School
55 Opera Estate Primary School Mr Yap Swee Beng Dennis
叶 瑞 明
Vice-Principal, Opera Estate Primary School
56 Pei Tong Primary School Mr Chris Loh Kai Mun
罗 凯 文
Vice-Principal, Pei Tong Primary School
57 Queenstown Primary School Mdm Lee Lie Kian Grace (Mrs Grace Chua)
李 丽 娟
Vice-Principal, Queenstown Primary School
58 Rivervale Primary School Mr Mah Seng Thong Andrew
马 成 忠
Vice-Principal, Rivervale Primary School
59 St. Anthony’s Canossian Primary School Mdm Sia Lu-Ming Eugenie
谢 露 眀
Vice-Principal, St. Anthony’s Canossian Primary School
60 Yio Chu Kang Primary School Mdm Seah Whye Choo
谢 慧 珠
Vice-Principal, Jiemin Primary School